2010 Sea Lake Mallee Rally

Friday, Saturday, Sunday – June 11th, 12th & 13th

Outright winner Toby Reimann

South Australian Toby Reimann took the top prize at last weekend’s Sea Lake Mallee Rally finishing the race in just under three hours.
But despite conditions conducive to fast times on Sunday, it was tough going out on the track with only just over half of the 70 entrants completing the course.
This year’s Rally (Round 2 of the 2010 Victorian Off Road Championship and Round 2 of the Albins ‘Donlakerie’ Tri-series) saw three racers ambulanced from the track, including one who was airlifted to Bendigo.
Fortunately, according to race officials all injured racers have been released from hospital, “battered and bruised but not seriously harmed.”
Local emergency ser­vice crews and volunteers were praised for the efficiency with which the injured were treated.
In only his second outing on the Lake Tyrrell track, Reimann and his navigator John Smith, claimed the Michael Bodinnar Memorial trophy after finishing in a time of 2:56:32.60.
Driving his homemade Nissan SR 20 turbo Pro Buggy, Reimann finished just 17 seconds ahead of fellow South Australian Kieren Kelly driving a Chenowth.
According to Reimann the win took him by surprise, as his first attempt in the Mallee Rally in 2008 ended in a DNF.
“I didn’t even make it once around the track,” he said.
Reimann also took home the Joel Lloyd Plumber and Gasfitter sponsored prize for the best road jump and the C. & M. Pearce Electrical trophy for the fastest lap (43:09.65).
Describing the conditions on the track as ‘perfect’, Reimann prais­ed the Sea Lake Off Road Club for a well organised event.
“I had a great weekend,” he said.
“I had an excellent run and the track was very fast.
“I hope to come back next year.”
Finishing the Rally third outright was Matt Ryan and Ken Thompson (Red Cliffs), driving a Southern Cross 3500 Prolite Buggy. This team completed their four laps in just over three hours (3:02:19.66).

The first local home was Andrew ‘Rags’ Mc­Clelland who came fourth outright with a time of 3:02:37.10.
He was awarded the Barry Richards Memorial trophy for his efforts.
McClelland and his first-time navigator Murray Mott were impressive over the whole weekend.
From a field of 22 in the Super 1650 Buggy class they finished first and McClelland was also named most consistent local, winning the Frank Coad trophy.
Organisers and racers alike described the 2010 Sea Lake Mallee Rally as another resounding success.
Sea Lake Off Road Club Secretary Alison McClelland attributed the success to the hard work of club members, volunteers and local support received.
“The Friday night scrutineering was again popular,” she said. “All the weekend’s events attracted good crowds.”
The weekend culminated with a presentation evening at the Sea Lake Community Complex.

Along with the winners mentioned, trophies were awarded as follows:
First Breakdown (sponsored by Farmyard Flowers) – Wally Francombe (SA).
Prologue winners (spon­sored by Racer Imports) – Peter ‘Shifty’ Godwin (tin top) and Wally Francombe (buggy).
Most organised crew (sponsored by Nandaly Hotel) – car 298 driven by Mark Hubbard (Craigieburn).
Hard luck story (sponsored by Lloyd’s Newsagency) – car 278 driven by Graham Symons (California Gully).

2010 Mallee Rally Outright Results