Airport West's "Ace" Puts in a Flyer

Justin Anderson and Blaise Ryan were quickest in prologue and were not headed all weekend to take out the 2006 Sea Lake Mallee Rally.

Justin Anderson and Blaise Ryan (129) with at total time of 2:55:04.15 for the 340 km race, took outright honours ahead of Jamie Robinson and Craig Hoare (124). Third outright was Shane Cottee (920), first Class 9. Next home was Lindsay Foster and Trevor Fridd (178) third in Class 1.

Local boys, Joe Marshall and Coby Pearce were fifth outright and first in Class 2. Ross and Paul Allan had qualified fastest in this class (5th fastest prologue time) but rolled on the first lap. Joe had qualified 8th and moved up to fifth on the first lap and held that position all day. Second in Class 2 was Darryl Smith and Michael Matthews (214) with Troy Johnstone and Lincoln Edwards (205) third.

Class 3 was won by Dean Williams and Peter Stevenson (357) (seventh outright) with Paul Walsh and Brendan Robinson (325) second (11th outright); Doug and Sarah Galliford were third.

Class 4 1st Daniel Ziembinski and Trevor Nash, 2nd Phil Fraser, 3rd Peter Ward and Michael Dunster-Jones from Swan Hill.

Class 5 went to the local crew of Rick and Andrea Hannig in the yellow Holden with Bob Duscher and Lisa Manno from Mildura (Datsun) in second. Third was the Commodore of Richard McNay and Fran Perry.

Ken Tocock and Jason Schmidt were the only starters in Class 7 and had and consistent run to take the chequered flag.

Class 8 was won by Reg Owen and Russell Cairns (9th outright) in the silver Nissan ahead of Des and Richard Harrington in the black Nissan ute. Third was Tyler and Chris Owen.

Class 9 was Shane Cottee with Doug Wood second.

Other locals to fair well were Butch and John Amos (109) 7th in Class 1 and 15th outright.

Darren Mott and Travis Horman finished despite rolling at the tyre barrier at the end of the first lap.

Hayden Daniel and Ben Giddings were 4th in Class 2 with Jason Hannig and Taylor Hannig 5th and "yes" they did beat mum and dad home.

Alistair McClelland and Stephen Newick finished after a couple of stops during day.

Alan Hatcher and Matt Lewis made a long day of it (5 hours and 50 minutes) but got the chequered flag.


Jamie Robinson and
Craig Hoare,2nd outright

Joe Marshall and Coby Pearce,
1st in Class 2 & 5th outright.